Bangladeshi Wedding Preparations (Part Two :Wedding Ceremony)

Wedding Ceremony is the most important event in a Bangladeshi Wedding.This is the day when finally the bride bids farewell to her parents and maternal home for starting a new journey with her husband in a completely new environment.Today,I am going to focus on the main points of a Wedding Ceremony which will be helpful for the upcoming brides and grooms along with their families.

At first,I am going to talk about choosing the venue for the wedding event.A good wedding venue in Bangladesh should be booked before 1 year or at least 6 months prior to the wedding date.The reason is that people are always interested to do their D-Day event in a hall which has a high standard,spacious,comfortable and can be decorated in a beautiful way.So,the advice is to book the hall before 1 year or 6 months prior to  the wedding date. I don’t know the exact pricing of the halls so I am not disclosing it.

  • Venues for the Event :

1) ICCB (International Convention City Bashundhara) : This is the most popular hall in recent times.There are 5 halls in International Convention City Bashundhara but 4 halls are used for wedding or any other purposes.They are :

 

venue
”International Convention City Bashundhara” (ICCB) Image Source : Digital World 2016
  • Gulnoksha : This is hall number one.It’s area is 30,000 square feet.The banquet table of the hall can accommodate 800 people.It has green rooms,prayer rooms and fully equipped cleaning team to maintain the hygiene of the hall.In my opinion,it can be the perfect hall for a wedding ceremony.
  • Pushpogusso : This is hall number two.It’s area is 30,000 square feet.The banquet table of the hall can accommodate 900 people.Like Gulnoksha it has green rooms,prayer rooms and fully quipped cleaning  team to maintain the hygiene of the hall.Green rooms and prayer rooms can be very useful for bride,groom and the guests as well.
  • Rajdarshan : This is hall number three.It’s area is 30,000 square feet.The banquet hall can accommodate 900 people.Like the other two halls it also has green rooms,prayer rooms and other amenities for the bride,groom and guests.
  • Noborattri : This is hall number four and the largest one.It’s area is 40,000 square feet.The banquet hall can accommodate 1500 people.Like the other three halls it also has green rooms,prayer rooms and other amenities for the relaxation and comfort of the bride and groom along with their guests.

In my opinion,ICCB is a high budgeted hall but it has all the facilities to make your D-Day into a glorious event.The information of ICCB has been taken from their website.

2) Shenakunjo : My wedding has taken place in Shenakunjo in the year 2015.I am  personally a huge fan of Shenakunjo for the outdoor decoration.It is a regal hall which expresses aristocracy and sophistication. Shenakunjo is known for it’s Mindblowing Ambience,spaciousness and Catering. Shenakunjo can accommodate more than 1500 people in 3 batches.I am telling this from my own personal experience.The outdoor should be used if the guest excludes more than 1000.It contains fountain and the lighting of Shenakunjo is mesmerizing.My family weddings are always organized in Shenakunjo.It is our family legacy to hold our weddings in Shenakunjo.

shenakunjo
Shenakunjo on my Wedding Day!!! Image Source : Sajjad Sumon

3) Shenamalancha : It is my another favorite hall.Though I couldn’t attend any of the weddings in Shenamalancha. But it is one of the most popular halls in recent times.It is comprised with two floors and each floor is hugely spacious.In my view,Shenamalancha can accommodate more than 1000 guests easily.

senamaloncho
”Shenamaloncho” Image Source : PUSHPO VALLEY

4) Golf Garden : It is one of the most popular halls for wedding events which is booked all the time in a year.I personally admire this hall because of it’s interior decoration and spaciousness.I have attended numerous weddings in Golf Garden.It can accommodate more than 1000.

20110104_wedding_nabil_maisha_1051
”Golf Garden” Image Source : Stories.my

The other halls which are also popular and has all the qualities of a good venue are listed below :

5) Officer’s Club Dhaka

6)Raowa Convention Hall

7)Police Convention Hall,Baily Road,Dhaka

8) PSC Convention Hall,Mirpur,Dhaka

9)Bangabandhu International Conference Center (BICC)

10)Shaheen Hall

In my opinion, these are top 10 venues for wedding and reception in Dhaka.It’s my sole opinion which is based on popularity,accommodation facilities,indoor and outdoor decoration,car parking facilities,food quality etc.The range of these halls will vary approximately to 2 lakhs-7 lakhs.In some halls,Defense people and their family members get discounts which can also be very beneficial for a wedding preparation.

bridal-heritage-360

  • Outfit,Jewelleries and Accesories for a Wedding Ceremony : The most important part of the wedding is the outfit of the bride.In my wedding, I have wore a “Red Benaroshi” which was gifted by my in-laws.It was from Khan Brothers.Choosing an outfit can be very tricky for the bride and groom for the D-Day.In my opinion,the bride and groom should choose their own outfit according to their choice.Specially a Bengali bride prefers to wear “Red Benaroshi” or “Red Katan” in their wedding day.But we have also seen brides interested in wearing Lehenga Choli’s, Sharararas, Ghararas,Gowns for their D-Day.Brides also like to wear outfits specially in the shades of Pink,Purple,Maroon etc in their wedding ceremony day.But in my opinion a bride should always choose their outfit in Red.Because it symbolizes our culture which shows us the meaning that a new journey should be started with LOVE and  RED” always symbolizes LOVE.
  • Shopping destinations for  bridal outfits in Dhaka :  There are numerous malls and shops in Dhaka for wedding outfits.They are :

bridal-heritage-370

For Bridal Sarees Famous shops in Dhaka are :

1)Jotey,An exclusive Fashion House: Best for Benaroshi and Katan Sarees. The shop is located in Bashundhara City.

2) Monerekho Sharees : Best for Benaroshi and Katan Sarees. The shop is also located in Bashundhara City.

3)Khan Brothers : Best for all kinds of wedding outfits.The shop is located in Gulshan Avenue.

4)Mirpur Benaroshi Polli :Best for Benaroshi and Katan Sarees. The shop is located in Mirpur.

5)Gulshan Sharee House : Best for Benaroshi,Katan and all kinds of Sarees. The shop is located in Gulshan.

For Bridal Lehengas,Shararas and Ghararas and other accessories famous Shops in Dhaka are :

1.Nabila Boutiques Ltd

2.Stylesell

3.Vasavi

4.Zaara Fashion Mall Ltd

These shops are located in Gulshan. They have high quality lehengas,shararas,ghararas for brides.Besides this there are designers in Bangladesh who has their own bridal couture.They are :

Bangladeshi Designers for Bridal Wear :

1)Sarah Karim Couture

2)Sahar Rahman Clothing

3)Rukshana Esrar Runi

4)Butterfly by Shagufta

They are my favorite Designers for bridal wear in Dhaka.Besides this, Many Brides love the outfit from “Verity”.Brides can order their outfits via online or from their in-store shop.They have beautiful Shararas,Lehengas and Gowns for wedding days.

Shopping For the Groom’s Outfit : Groom’s outfit is also the best part of a wedding.For Grooms outfit I will highly recommend “Manyavar”.Groom in a traditional Bangladeshi Wedding Ceremony wears “Sherwani”.“Manyavar” will be the best for exquisite “Sherwanis”,”Pagri” and “Nagras”.The outfit of my husband was bought from India from  “Manyavar Kolkata”.Bangladesh has a chain of “Manyavar” in Dhaka and I will recommend it for grooms.It will be expensive but their designs will make the groom  shine like a diamond beside the bride.

bridal-heritage-108
Image Source : Bridal Heritage

Shopping In India for Bride and Grooms Outfit : Now-a-days brides and groom love to go to india for shopping.Those who have a very high budget prefer the designer wears of Sabyasachi,Manish Malhotra,Anita Dongre,Ritu Kumar.These are some of the outlet details of famous designers :-

1)Sabyasachi-The Flagship Store in Kolkata,Delhi and Mumbai

5-lehenga-shops-in-kolkata-you-must-check-out-for-gorgeous-bridal-wear
Image Source : SABYASACHI HERITAGE BRIDAL

 

2)Manish Malhotra Fashion Stores in Mumbai,Kolkata and Delhi

 

manish-malhotra-bridal-dresses-designs
Image Source : MANISH MALHOTRA BRIDAL DRESSES DESIGNS

 

Besides this, there are Ritu Kumar,Nita Lulla and Anita Dongre who are popular indian designers famous for their bridal outfits and  have their own outlets across India.These fashion stores will be mostly found in New Delhi,Mumbai and Kolkata. New Delhi’s Karol Bagh is also famous for wedding shopping and accessories. 

Besides this,people love to do shopping from Kolkata. Kolkata has a unique collection of  Sarees for wedding.There are some saree shops in Kolkata Park Street.They are :- 

  1. Rangoli
  2. Sarovar Sarees Private Limited
  3. Savera Sarees Private Limited
  4. Vedam Kolkata

For authentic and traditional sarees two other shops are famous of Kolkata.They are:- Adi Mohini Mohan Kanjilal and Adi Dhakeshawari Bastralay.They are famous for authentic and beautiful Benarosi Sarees.Besides, this Quest Mall and South City Mall are popular for wedding jewelleries and accesories.New market of Kolkata is also popular for outfits and wedding accesories.

Jewelleries For Wedding : I am personally a Gold Jewellery Fan.But people now-a-days also love to wear Diamonds in their wedding.Wedding Rings in diamond are the most precious and best gift for a couple.bridal-heritage-375

Jewellery Shops in Dhaka :

  • Apan Jewellers : I am a fan of their designs.My gold wedding jewelleries were from Apan Jewellers.I love their variation of Designs.Their diamond collection is also mesmerizing.My husband’s wedding ring was also from Apan Jewellers.
  • Jarwa House : They also have beautiful designs.Their shop is in Gulshan.
  • Venus Jewellers  and Amin Jewellers are also one of the leading jewellery shops in Dhaka.
  • Diamond World : For wedding rings in diamond none other is best than “Diamond World”.They have exquisite diamond jewelleries which can have a glorifying effect on a bride and groom.

For other jewelleries or accesories such as- Bengali Brides love to wear ‘Mathapatti’,’Tikli’,’Jhapta’,”Noth”.Many brides were it on gold and diamond.But if the brides want to wear it on gold plated jewellery they can go to Bashundhara City,Pink City, Metro Shopping Mall,Jamuna Future Park etc.Even “Gawsia” can be good and reasonable in price for gold plated jewelleries .Besides this,they can go for online pages for these jewelleries.They are Sparkle,Rez Jewellery,Babyshell etc.For Bags and Sandals I will  again recommend Stylesell,Nabila boutiques Ltd,Pink City,Zaara Fashion Malls,Bashundhara City etc.

Parlors for the wedding Event : I will personally prefer Sadia Moyeen of Labelle for wedding ceremony.My makeover was done by Sadia Moyeen and I was highly satisfied with my makeover.Sheuly and Nilu are also best for wedding makeovers.There are other top parlours good for wedding ceremony .They are:-bridal-heritage-242

1.La Belle Beauty Saloon

2.Farzana Shakil’s Makeover Saloon.

3.Quebella Beauty Saloon

4.Divine Beauty Lounge

5.Red Beauty Parlour

6.Persona Hair & Beauty Saloon

7.Woman’s World Ltd

Besides this,Like my previous part I will like to mention about the freelancer makeup artists.They are : Zahid Khan Makeover,Gala Makover Studio By Navin Ahmed,Amana Rahman Bespoke makeup artistry,Beauty Craft by Sanjana,Aniqa Alam-makeup artist,Zuri by Karishma Rahman etc.I always love the makeovers and the hairdos of freelancer makeup artists.

  • Decoration and Food Preparations for a Perfect Wedding Ceremony:

bridal-heritage-346
bridal-heritage-368

img_7063

img_7070

The Decoration of my wedding was done by Shahjahan Wedding Planners and Event Management Co.My wedding ceremony stage was worth 2 lakhs taka.I had given a ceiling in Shenakunjo with my favourite walkway and centerpieces on the table.Like my Holud event in my wedding, I have done my entry with “Palki”.I was personally interested to choose Shahjahan Wedding Planners for my wedding day so I didn’t search any other wedding planner or event management company.The halls are linked with the wedding planners and event management companies in Dhaka.I will personally prefer Shahjahan Wedding Planners and Event Management Co.They can be expensive but their work is excellent.I am highly satisified with them.Besides this,there are Enchanted Events & Prints and they can also be expensive but their work is excellent.bridal-heritage-609

bridal-heritage-299

Food is one of the main concern for a wedding.I am a Kacchi Lover” so in my wedding there was Kacchi Biriyani along with Tandoori Chicken,Naan,Jali Kabab,Rezala,Borhani,Vegetable Curry,Salad,Aloo Bokharar Chatni,Firni,Doi etc. Food is the best part of the wedding so the host’s family should have a good focus on food preparations.

bridal-heritage-821

Photography and Cinematogrpahy in a Wedding Ceremony : Photography is also one of the main concern for a wedding.My wedding photogprahy and Cinematogprahy was done by Bridal Heritgae and I am satisfied with them.I want to mention some top photographers for a wedding.They are :

  • Snapshot
  • Fotoart by Sami Irani
  • K.Nasif Photography
  • DreamWeaver
  • Dreamy Wedding
  • Bridal Heritage
  • Ishrat Amin Photography
  • Wedding Diary

For  top level cinematography I will mention FnF Photography and  Cinewedding by Nabhan Zaman.They are my favourites. Pictures and Videos of wedding day will remain whole life so there should be proper emphasize to choose a good photographer and a cinematographer.

bridal-heritage-110

My wedding was a spectacular event because of my parents.I am really thankful to them.I hope this blog will be useful for upcoming brides and grooms.Thanks for reading my blog 😀 Stay tuned for the last part of my “Bangladeshi Wedding Preparations” which is Walima!!!Tata!!!

References :

Image Source of My Wedding Pictures : Bridal Heritage

Informations of Venues,Parlor,Jewelleries : My own experience,Friends who recently got married and Google 😀

 

Author: Shamma's Perception

I am Shamma, 27 years old Bengali chick, doing MS in Business Analytics, currently living in the United States. This blog is about my life, thoughts, and perception. The opinions, experiences, and perception expressed in this blog is my personal viewpoint and opinion. I preferably focus on my culture, heritage, and tradition with new trends and lifestyles. This lifestyle informative blog will contain my life experiences, thoughts, and perception of my life.

Leave a comment